Initiated in November 2012 by Aperture Foundation and Paris Photo, the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with prizes in three categories. The initial short-list selection was made by Ann-Christin Bertrand, curator at C/O Berlin; David Campany, author, photographer, and curator; Lesley A. Martin, creative director of Aperture Foundation and publisher of The PhotoBook ReviewDr. Rebecca Senf, Chief curator at the Center for Creative Photography, Tucson, Arizona, and the Norton Family Curator of Photography; and Christoph Wiesner, artistic director of Paris Photo.

All the short-listed books are profiled in issue 011 of The PhotoBook Review, Aperture Foundation’s biannual publication dedicated to the consideration of the photobook. The PhotoBook Review is available for free at Aperture Gallery and Bookstore and is mailed to all Aperture magazine subscribers.

The short-list exhibition also includes the winning books: Libyan Sugar by Michael Christopher Brown is the winner of $10,000 in the First PhotoBook category. Wojciech Zamecznik: Photo-graphics by Karolina Puchała-Rojek and Karolina Ziębinńska-Lewandowska is the winner of the Photography Catalogue of the Yearand Gregory Halpern’s ZZYZX is PhotoBook of the Year. A special mention goes to Taking Stock of Power: An Other View of the Berlin Wall by Annett Gröschner and Arwed Messmer.

A jury in Paris selected this year’s winners: Paul Graham, critically acclaimed photographer; Jens Hoffmann, director of special exhibitions and public programs, Jewish Museum, New York; Katja Stuke, artist, curator, designer, and publisher; Agnès Sire, director of the Henri Cartier-Bresson Foundation; and Thomas Zander, founder of Galerie Thomas Zander.